My boy turns 2 today

I have a quick minute and I wanted to share…

I made pancakes with blackberry syrup, and my little man is pretty happy about it 😀

Dairbhre was an afternoon baby, just like I was.

Last night in the dark I told him the story of his birth:

It was a week past my due date. I kept having contractions every night but they stopped when I went to bed. So I decided to stay up all night. I watched episode after episode of Northern Exposure, sitting cross-legged on the floor, rocking back and forth. About 9 o’clock in the morning, my water broke.

It was an easy birth, to a delightfully healthy 8 pound 7 ounce boy. The doctor handed him to me and he laid on my belly, so tiny!

And the way his hair lay all dark auburn against his ivory skin was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. The most perfect and unusual of color combinations.

2 thoughts on “My boy turns 2 today

Leave a Reply

