Smallest monster yet

I’ve just listed this guy in my Etsy shop:

He’s about 9 inches tall in all, 6 inches from head to butt. I love him bunches. I’ve been trying to make more monsters to fund my homeschooling adventures, and it’s a bit tiring. My plan was to go for roughly 5 a week, a few small ones like this one here, and a couple of large ones like the other one I just listed:

That one is 14 inches tall. I dunno what happened there, I was trying to make a small one, and he ended up being giant. This one seems to be popular, so I’m going to try to make up a few more. He’s delightfully squishy.

But yeah. It’s getting tiring. My hands get really sore, and I get nothing else done around the house. Unless I schedule every minute of every day (SO not me) I wouldn’t be able to make a steady income doing this. Perhaps a steady tiny income. Like $40 a week. ha! Which is why I am thinking of coming up with more designs and selling the patterns.

So do you guys think I could sell a pattern for the smaller monster? I’ve really worked the kinks out of my designs. I’ve noticed that my free patterns are a BIT wonky, but people haven’t seemed to notice. I would want my newer designs to be effing perfect.

7 thoughts on “Smallest monster yet

  1. Hi Heather, I for one would buy the patterns you produced. You have the talent and bags of potential, hate to see talent go to waste.

    All the very best to you and yours little one.

    Faye

  2. I’ve paid for lots of patterns on Etsy. I LOVE PDF patterns. πŸ™‚

    That being said. I love your monster patterns and I think they could sell. I would buy them.

    I suggest having a few test knitters so they can help with any editing that needs done.

    πŸ™‚

  3. Your monsters are SO cute!

    I think you could certainly sell the patterns. I agree with the previous commenter, that it’s a good idea to get some test knitters to make sure the patterns make sense from other people’s perspectives. If your patterns are very clearly written and illustrated, you’ll build up an excellent reputation, and will do well with selling them. Best of luck to you with it! πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for the lovely compliment on my sweater. I would buy one of your monster patterns in a heartbeat. My little beast would love one!

  5. I say go for it! You will never know until you try. I personally would wait until Ravelry goes public then sell through them…
    I would be glad to test knit, I love the first monster’s I adapted from you free pattern, and the Mama they went to was over the moon about them!

  6. I found you online! I love your monster creations! I will show you my Tortoro when I get him done.

    Mary Beth from SOF Homeschoolers

Leave a Reply

