Monday was fun.

I met my friend Ariel’s sister Kara on Monday at my dad’s house, to trade off on yarny lessons– she gave me crochet lessons while I taught her the basic knit, purl, cast on, bind off stuffs.

I think I’m getting the hang of crochet. I started this on Monday night:

I made a hat! Crocheting in the round, no less. (I would have thought you were crazy if you’d told me Monday I’d be starting this in just a few hours.) I used this pattern for guidance. I had to rip back quite a few times, and found that wow, that’s easier with crochet. You can’t drop stitches down the entire rung, just one stitch back. Sweet.

It’s mostly various worsted wool from my stash– with a stripe of fuzzy Moda Dea Wild. The top is MORE of that Paton’s Classic Wool, color Too Teal, that I had a gajillion balls of.

I’m quite enchanted with crochet. My children sort of suffered for it yesterday, until I got this hat done. Then I did about 4 days worth of dishes and the Boo Bear crashed out, so I started working on some tiny knit dolls for Rowan. I’m using a basic body pattern and she’s making me knit dresses and such. I think I’ll make three or four, then I’m going to make some gnomes for Boo Bear (only with faces) which are easy enough that a monkey could make them.

I think I’m just going to work on more toys for the kiddos for awhile. Oh, and now that I can crochet, there’s this gnome home!

Imma go wear my hat around for awhile.

3 thoughts on “Monday was fun.

  1. Hi Heather

    I love it how your blog takes me through your crafting adventures!

    Nice hat. :o)
    I do a little crocheting once in a while, although I much prefer knitting …

Leave a Reply

